A new and improved Character Builder

For general discussion about the game that doesn't really delve into Mechanics (see the "Mechanics Discussion" section). In Out-of-Character discussion, you are expected to be courteous to others.
NearNihil

A new and improved Character Builder

Post by NearNihil »

Hello!

Ever since I started playing again after Nexus War I've been theorycrafting a lot. If any of you are familiar with EVE Online - I spent a lot of time in Pyfa. And so the Character Planner linked at the top was a godsend - easily seeing what I could do with a character. I started making spreadsheets to see where I could shift skill around to make the best I could. But I really severely missed the option to import and export builds to share my creations. So I made my own! The devs have also graciously made APIs available to use (seriously, big shout out to them, this whole project would have been infinitely more painful without the support), so everything in NearNihil's New Thing(tm) is - should be, anyway - up-to-date with any patches as soon as they hit.

You can find the app over at:

https://nexus-clash-character-builder.herokuapp.com/

It's still a work-in-progress, as the interface isn't the prettiest and there's touches of wonkiness here and there, but I've been loving the project and should address any issues reasonably quickly as they are brought up.

Features:
  • Plan your characters' builds!
  • Skills updated as soon as a patch hits, automagically!
  • Share builds by exporting & importing them! Both a downloaded file and a "magic build code" (a "base64" version of the build) you can put in your notepad or wherever. Try it with what I came up with for a melee Seraph!

Code: Select all